Shop Menu

Charlaine Harris and Stieg Larsson estate announce new graphic novels

Best known for her Sookie Stackhouse series, Charlaine Harris has just announced a deal with Ace Books to create a graphic novel trilogy called Cemetery Girl. 

Cemetery Girl is a paranormal/fantasy mystery novel about a teenage girl with amnesia living alone in a cemetery. It is Harris’ first effort at creating an original graphic novel series (IDW publishes a graphic novel series based on the True Blood TV show) and she will collaborate on the graphic novels with fantasy writer Christopher Golden and with artist Don Kramer. The first book in the graphic novel series will be released in 2013. All eight of the Sookie Stackhouse novels have appeared on the New York Times bestseller lists.

Publisher’s Weekly

In a similiar but seperate announcement, the Stieg Larsson estate will be creating a graphic novel series based on the international bestselling Millennium Trilogy. 

Working in conjunction with the estate of Steig Larsson and the Hedlund Literary Agency, DC Entertainment and its Vertigo imprint will adapt Larrson’s Millennium Trilogy novels—the books have sold more than 60 million copies— into a series of graphic novels. Each book in the trilogy will be adapted into two graphic novel volumes available in print and digital formats. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo graphic novel volumes will be released in 2012 and graphic adaptations of The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest will be released in 2014.

– Publisher’s Weekly

These highly-anticipated releases will be joining a venerable genre; graphic novels have been growing in popularity each year, and graphic novels like Maus by Art Spiegelman and Watchmen by Alan Moore have been bestsellers since their releases in 1992 and 1986 respectively.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply